The Intergroup’s Secretary-General implements the decisions taken by the Presidents and coordinates the work of the Intergroup.

Petra Kurtović

Petra became the Intergroup’s Secretary-General in July 2023. Her tasks include:

  1. Analysing and monitoring relevant policy and legislative files in key parliamentary Committees (e.g. LIBE, EMPL, FEMM, AFET, DROI, DEVE, PETI and the Special Committees INGE and INGE2);
  2. Coordinating the parliamentary work of the Intergroup: giving policy advice, drafting amendments to resolutions/reports, drafting written/oral questions to the institutions and strategising Intergroup intervention in parliamentary work, all with the aim of mainstreaming and advancing LGBTI equality;
  3. Coordinating support from the 150+ network of MEPs to key policy files;
  4. Coordinating advocacy efforts in relation to EU institutions (European Commission, Council) or national governments (e.g. through writing letters to national authorities addressing violations of LGBTI persons’ rights and ensuring their visibility, maintaining contact with local civil society, etc);

Petra previously worked in the European Parliamentary Forum for Sexual and Reproductive Rights as a Policy Officer in charge of relations with the European Parliament. She was active in a number of civil society organisations in the Western Balkans working to advance human rights, with specific focus on LGBTIQ issues.

Petra holds a Masters degree in Social Philosophy from University of Zagreb.

Previous Intergroup Secretary-Generals include

  • Miguel Chambel (March 2020 – April 2023);
  • Juliette Sanchez-Lambert (February 2018 – January 2020);
  • Evert Jan Jacobsen (June 2014 – February 2018);
  • Bruno Selun (November 2009 – June 2014);
  • Maris Sergejenko (April 2008 – June 2009);
  • Kim Smouter (September 2006 – July 2007);
  • Catrine Norrgård (December 2005 – June 2006);
  • Oscar Ortiz-Nieminen (September 2005 – March 2006);
  • Rosa Santrich (2002 – 2004);
  • Hein Verkerk (1997-2001).

The position is funded by the Presidents of the Intergroup.

The LGBTI Intergroup may welcome fellows to conduct research on topics related to its work. Research fellows should be funded by their university, school or government for the entire course of their stay. If interested, send us an email through our contact form.